The 2015 edition of the department newsletter Maxima is now online. read it online

Alumni Lunch Launched! Previous Gold Nugget Award winners Enrique Gomez and Harriet B. May among attendees of 2015 Alumni Homecoming lunch. Read more

Dr. Natasha Sharma received an approximately $160,000 grant from NSF for Collaborative Research: Numerical Simulation of the Morphosynthesis of Polycrystalline Biominerals.

Dr. Ori Rosen received an approximately $250,000 3-year grant from NSF to study Bayesian Time Series Methods in the Frequency Domain.

Drs. Amy Wagler and Son-Young Yi were tenured and promoted to Associate Professor. Congratulations!

Dr. Helmut Knaust is one of the UTEP recipients of the 2015 Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award. Dr. Knaust is the fifth awardee from our department. Congratulations! Read UTEP news article

Maria Barraza-Rios received a Distinguished Achievement Award for Service. She and the other three Distinquished Service awardees were recognized at Convocation. Congratulations! 2015 Convocation photos

Dr. Larry Lesser's "American Pi" was announced by the National Museum of Mathematics on 3/14/15 as having won its Pi Day of the Century songwriting contest. Congratulations!

Dr. Kien Lim received the MAA Southwestern Section Teaching Award. Congratulations! MAA Southwestern Section newsletter.

UTEP named #1 in Mathematics and Statistics degrees awarded to Hispanics by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education magazine. Go Math Miners! Read more

Dr. Amy Wagler is one of the UTEP recipients of the 2014 Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award. Congratulations! Read UTEP news article

Dr. Art Duval is a contributing editor to a new blog from the American Mathematical Society, titled On Teaching and Learning Mathematics. The blog will address issues from a wide variety of topics on teaching and learning mathematics from pre-kindergarten to postsecondary. New articles are expected to be posted three times a month. Dr. Duval's first article for the AMS blog can be found at

Statistics major (and UPBiT student) Raymond Ford won the Best Poster award in the Basic Research category at the 2014 International Symposium on Bioinformatics: Medical Applications. Congratulations!

Club Zero group places third on research at SUnMaRC 2014. Read more

The Mathematical Sciences department Centennial Open House schedule of events is posted online.

Dr. Kien Lim was one of the three recipients for the 2014 Harry J. Meeuwsen Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award. This award-winning article “Making Ideas Stick: Curiosity and Connections” has been accepted for publication in the Mathematics Teacher journal by the National Council for Teachers of Mathematics.

The team of UTEP students Bryan A. Felix, Manuel E. Dosal, Luis A. Ponce and Irving Martinez who participated in the 2013 Putnam Competition last December ranked 131 out of 557 institutions and 4113 contestants. Congratulations!

Dr. Larry Lesser began serving in January 2014 as the Interim Director of UTEP’s Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (

Job opportunities in the department

Page last modified: 20 Oct 2015, 05:31 PM